Area 78

Alberta / Northwest Territories

Click to download Area Guidelines


Quick Notes About Area 78

Name Description
Area Committee Comprises the Committee Officers and all district committee members - together, these are the committee members.
Committee Officers Table Officers (6) and Committee Chairs (10)
Finance Committee Table Officers (6)
Table Officers Delegate, Alternate Delegate, Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary, Past Delegate. Table Officers (except for Past Delegate) are elected every two years by General Service Reps. and District Committee Members.
Committee Chairs Are appointed by the current panel of Table Officers and the newly elected Table Officers from standing or past District Committee Members. Committees are: Archives, Cooperation with the Professional Community (CPC), Corrections, Grapevine, Group Records/Registrar, Literature, Public Information, Remote Communities, Treatment Facilities, and E-Services
Area Committee Meeting Held in January and May of each year, for District Committee Members, Committee Chairpersons, and Table officers. This meeting serves as a steering committee for the two Area Assemblies each year. Locations for Area Committee Meetings are selected by vote at the Area 78 Pre-Conference Assembly in March of each year which is held in Red Deer Alberta. (All AA members are welcome to attend)
Area Assembly Held in March and September of each year, in Red Deer, for General Service Representatives, District Committee members, and interested AA members. The March assembly is also known as the "Pre-Conference Assembly". Business is restricted to consideration of items that the Delegate must cover in advance of attending the General Service Conference. Every second September (odd number years) Area Assembly is the Election Assembly
Past Delegate Is an automatic position, after having served as Delegate
Other Positions There are two appointed positions, which are not Committee Chairs: Archivist and Web Master. These positions require persons with specialized skills and/or training. These are open-ended terms, and position holders must be reaffirmed every two years at the election Assembly.
Term All positions are for a two-year term and begin on January of the year following the election Assembly.